top of page

Wesley's History


First, we give credit to the "History of Wesley's 134 Years Planning Committee" lasting members, Sis. Ruby Stevens and Sis. Della Jackson. We acknowledge their resources (John Brown's book and other members of Wesley), and their hard work in uncovering our church's history.


In 1880, the Mississippi Conference showed a decline in membership. A probable result of the Negro exodus north. From 1879 to 1880 the membership declined 13%. In the midst of the decline a new congregation was started, Wesley United Methodist Church in Kosciusko. The first pastor was Rev. Marcus Nevils, 1880-1882. The congregation held together until a church was built in 1881. The site chosen was perhaps the highest hill in Kosciusko near the downtown area.


In 1957, the old church was torn down, and the present church building was constructed under the administration of Rev. Benjamin F. Harper, Sr.

Pastors Who Have Served
Wesley United Methodist Church

Roosevelt Gage                  2017-

Clinton Gipson                   2015-2017

A. J. Murray                        2013-2015

Selber McShepard             2012-2013

David McCoy                     2009-2012

A. L. Johnson                      2006-2009

Shelby Singleton                2004-2006

Willie Young                        2001-2004

Victoria S.T. Baldwin          1996-2001

Marjorie Walker                  1995-1996

Leon Collier                         1992-1995

Jerry Norris                          1989-1992

Embra Jackson                    1986-1989

S. J. Richards                       1983-1986

Richmond E. Stoglin          1982

Dwight Prowell                    1980-1981

Joe M. May                          1978-1979

Rogers Walker                     1973-1977

Roosevelt Young                 1972

B. F. Harper, Sr.                  1956-1971

E. I. Shannon                      1953-1955

W. M. Bankhead                1951-1952

B. W. Shaw                          1950

B. H. Ashford                      1945-1949

D. T. Jackson                       1942-1944

W. N. Redmond, Sr.           1937-1941

J. L. King                               1933-1936


J. P. Watson                         1927-1932

C. V. Heffner                       1924-1926

G. M. Chisom                     1922-1923

W. H. H. Murrell                 1920-1921

C. E. Moody                        1918-1919

J. W. Winbush                     1916-1917

L. F. White                           1914-1915

F. J. Talbert                          1912-1913

D. W. Crump                       1911

T. W. Davis                          1910

D. M. P. Hazley                   1909

T. W. Davis                          1908

D. W. Bragg                         1907

M. C. McEwen                    1905-1906

W. M. Campbell                 1902-1904

B. S. Bowie                          1900-1901

W. M. Roberts                    1898-1899

A. W. Wright                       1896-1897

D. Green                             1893-1895

F. H. Bunton                       1892

J. M. Nevils                          1891

S. H.  Nevils                        1889-1890

G. A. Griffin                        1887-1888

W. M. Parks                        1885-1886

C. L. Crump                        1883-1884

Marcus Nevils                    1880-1882


bottom of page